Publishing: A Campaign Commitment

tool theme for publishingpioneer

Perhaps I held back because I was afraid of my ignorance. But now I have a Twitter account. I wanted to believe that it was really designed for personal, not business, use. It makes me nervous. With an unusual name, I’m quite easy to find already. And I like to keep my already too-busy personal life personal and separated from my already too-busy business life!

Yet I connect every day with other thoughtful and committed professionals. I am an early LinkedIn adopter, for example. Until now having a Twitter presence seemed to work contrary to my focused intensions. But Twitter has become part of the marketing mainstream.

There is a sequence between activities: participation in blogs, choices in social networking, publishing articles, releasing e-books, marketing print books, and collaborating with Amazon. I study how these relate. Each has its function like wall pieces snapping into a prefabricated house. The campaign must be scaled most appropriately for its target. Various techniques can be tested. How does a professional play with these media options like keys on a promotional piano? Every player will make music differently. Therein lies the fascination. Therein lies the deluge. That’s my biggest fear: in an already over-stuffed schedule, how do I play that piano? How do I rejuggle priorities? How do you do it?

Here are some techniques I have discovered so far:
tools of the trade 1. Think modularly. Break a concept into a question for groups and an action to post on Twitter. Build the idea into a blog, then an article.
tools of the trade2. Organize really well. Take the initial time to set up a system for generating content, responding, fulfilling requests, and doing research

tools of the trade 3. Use tech tools to simplify, monitor, measure, and screen responses. It is more to learn but saves time in the long-run. Find the best resources to suggest shortcuts, like LinkedIn Groups, Copyblogger, and the publishing associations such as IPA. My blog roll also has some great resources.
tools of the trade4. Get ahead of the delivery sequence. I work on 2-4 blogs at a time. I polish and post the draft and hold it until the scheduled post time. Then, if business gets really busy,  I can quickly launch the next post in queue.
tools of the trade5. Think in terms of campaign. Strategically, not spontaneously, select the options that will help business the most, i.e. the outlets where your potential clients or customers will see. Many bloggers are unfocused and haphazard. They may be directing their entries to the wrong people if their goal is to build business but all those reading are in not position to commission projects. It is better to have a few of the right readers than many of the wrong readers.
tools of the trade 6. Vary patterns to experiment with what works. Use as many ways as possible to test ideas. Try different headline approaches. Try different promotional ideas. See what works before committing more resources.
tools of the trade 7. Participate strategically. I follow about a dozen blogs regularly, always on the lookout for visually exciting ones. Most of them are blogs that prospects read. Others are communications-related. I only comment where the topic fits my experience and expertise.
tools of the trade 8. Set a time limit before logging in, or its too easy to get distracted by reading responses, discussions, followings, or hot topics. If you set a time limit, when you reach it, you have probably accomplished what you need.
tools of the trade 9. Define your communication style. Choose options consciously. Decide which areas are most important and do those really well. At the same time keep at least a functional understanding of other capabilities.
tools of the trade 10. Follow strategically on Twitter. Publishing is an adventure—each step with lessons to learn. Follow me, and maybe my journey can help you on yours. http://www.twitter.com/lianesebastian
tools of the trade  11. Edit to show respect for the reader’s time. [This soapbox keeps reappearing on these pages!]
tools of the trade 12. Design a realistic schedule and don’t start what you can’t sustain.

With several months of this blog under my belt, several years of LinkedIn, and even longer running physical discussion groups, I hope Twitter isn’t more than I can handle!
Please share your suggestions for short-cuts of how to attend communications venue. More than the technical part, I’m interested strategy and management. I hope you find some of my solutions useful. Thanks, Liane

Liane Sebastian, illustrator, designer, writer, and publishing pioneer

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Publishing: A Campaign Commitment”

  1. tajanicole20 Says:

    Thanks for sharing this great way to strategically prioritize a campaign commitment, especially when it comes down to advertising in such a high volume life. I loved the lists of techniques you have given. It was clear, direct and understandable. It is so hard to separate and maintaining a stable yet persist life in campaigning.. Thanks again.

    • wisdomofwork Says:

      Your point about sustaining hits the heart of the challenge. It is easier to start initiatives than to build and complete a momentum! Careful what I start, I studied and participated in blogs for six months before starting this one. I am pleased that these tips were helpful!

  2. Blog Comments for COMM 4333 « Tajanicole Blog Says:

    Blog Title: Publishing: A Campaign Commitment
    Hyperlink to Blog Six
    Date: February 13, 2010
    Comment: Thanks for sharing this great way to strategically prioritize a campaign commitment, especially when it comes down to advertising in such a high volume life. I loved the lists of techniques you have given. It was clear, direct and understandable. It is so hard to separate and maintaining a stable yet persist life in campaigning.. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

